Al Cho MBE Award

The International MBE Advisory Committee is proud to present the Al Cho MBE Award at every international MBE conference in honor of Al Cho, “Father of MBE”, and to recognize individuals who have made fundamental contributions to the science and technology of MBE or enabled by MBE. The award includes a $5,000 cash prize and an engraved plaque and is sponsored by the North American MBE Conference.

Previous recipients: Tom Foxon (2004), Yoshiji Horikoshi (2006), Arthur Gossard (2008), Klaus Ploog (2010), Satoshi Hiyamizu (2012), James S. Harris (2014), Jean Massies (2016), Aizhen Li (2018), Charles Tu (2020).

Al Cho MBE Award 2022 winner - Eric Tournié, University of Montpellier, France
“For his work on MBE of II-VI and III-V materials, especially antimonides which contributed to the field of IR detectors and lasers”.

Eric Tournié is a Professor at Université de Montpellier (F) since 2002 where he led the mid-IR research group of Institut d’Electronique, UMR CNRS 5214, from 2005 to 2019. His current work focuses on the epitaxial integration of GaSb-based devices on Si platforms. From 1990 to 1993 he was with the Max-Planck-Institute in Stuttgart (D), working on InAs-based, highly-strained heterostructures on InP and GaAs substrates. In 1993 he moved to the Paul-Drude-Institute in Berlin (D) before joining CRHEA/CNRS in Valbonne (F) to work on ZnSe-based heterostructures for blue-green lasers. In 1999 he launched a program on GaInNAs heterostructures for telecom applications. In 2019-20 Eric was a JSPS visiting research fellow at The University of Tokyo. He is a member of the Int. Advisory/Steering Committee of several conference series, inc. the Int. Molecular-Beam Epitaxy conference (MBE), the Int. Symposium on Compounds Semiconductors (ISCS), the Euro-MBE conference series. He chaired the ISCS 2014, MIOMD 2014 and IC-MBE 2016 conferences. From 2010 to 2016 Eric was a member of the Editorial Board of J of Physics D:Applied Physics, and he is currently an associate editor of Electronics Letters. Eric has co-authored ~300 refereed journal and conference publications, and gave ~80 invited talks at international conferences.

Young Investigator MBE Award

The International MBE Advisory Committee is proud to present the Young Investigator Award to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the science and technology of MBE or enabled by MBE by the age of 40 and that show promise of future leadership in the field. The award includes a $1,000 cash prize and an engraved plaque and is supported by ICMBE 2022. 

Previous recipients: Jiro Nishinaga 2012, Homan Yuen and Debdeep Jena 2014, Bharat Jalan 2016, Songrui Zhao 2018 and Stephanie Law 2020.

Young Investigator MBE Award 2022 winner - Le Duc Anh, University of Tokyo, Japan
"For his work on MBE growth, physics and devices of new Fe-based III-V ferromagnetic semiconductors for semiconductor spintronics and topological quantum electronics"

Le Duc Anh is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Systems, The University of Tokyo. He is also a researcher for PRESTO program of Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). In 2019, he was a visiting scholar at Francis Bitter Magnet Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA). His PhD thesis is on the properties and device applications of Fe-based ferromagnetic semiconductors. During this time, he was awarded a Research Fellowship for Young Scientist from Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS). He has won several awards including a Nippon Broadcasting System Prize at the 29st Technology Grand Awards for Originality. He is currently working on crystal growth and physics of various magnetic materials, superconductor/ferromagnetic semiconductor hybrid structures, and topological materials, aiming for their device applications in spintronics and quantum computing.

Outstanding Student MBE Award

The Outstanding Student MBE Award is based on the quality of the student's work and the excellence of their presentation and includes students who either present their work orally or as a poster. 

Best Student Oral Prize is awarded to Zachary Engel, Georgia Institute of Technology for his work on "Demonstration of Sc0.2Al0.8N HEMT structures with a sheet resistance of 150 Ω/□ and a sheet charge of 5.9x1013 cm-2 with phase pure, metal rich growth"

Best Student Poster Prize is awarded to Manyu Dang, University College London for her work on "Heterogeneous growth of low defect density thin Germanium buffer layer on Si substrate"'

Congratulations to our winners!

Environmental Statement   Modern Slavery Act   Accessibility   Disclaimer   Terms & Conditions   Privacy Policy   Code of Conduct   About IOP         

© 2021 IOP All rights reserved.
The Institute is a charity registered in England and Wales (no. 293851) and Scotland (no. SC040092)